Balaton and surroundings
Balaton and surroundings comprise some of he most beautiful landscapes
in this country. There is an abundance of naturan features, historical
treasures and folk traditions, justifying the popularity of this holiday
region both at home and abroad.
Favourite holiday spot with a rich past, adjacent to Keszthely. Main attraction: first-rate beach with excellent services (beach walleyball, giant slide, water football pitch, high standard service units, free car park);
John spring (beginning of Kossuth Str.) alongside, statue of St John of
Nepomuk (1828, Neoclassical); Havas Boldogaszzony church (Darnay u.; 1893;
Italian Neo-renaissance altar), in front, Holy Trinity statue (1902);
Danay type thatched harrow cellar (Nr. 10; 1644; folk monument); Shepherd's
house (Nr. 97; 19. c.; local history collection); St. Ilona chapel (Hunyadi
J. str. ; 1826, Neo-classical);
World famous spa; Bathing lake (lrgest thermal lake in Europe: 11 ac.; spring at depth of 43 m; radi-active therapeutic waters; therapeutic mud several m deep; bath-houses on stilts; unusual plants: water lilies on the lake, bald cypress on the on the shore, the lake and surroundings NR); recreation park; Holy pirit church with seven towers (1996-1999: János Bocskai); Hévíz Pantheon on the wall of the winter baths; Jupiter altar stone in the entrance hall; statue park (Dr. Moll tér.); Egregy R. C. church (in the cemetery, access: across Zrinyi u.; 13. c., Rom.; traces of mediaeval frescoes in the sanctuary), on the way: late Roman brick tomb.
Events: Maytime: beginning of May; Beer Festival: Whitsun; Water Lily Festival: Jul.; Alpine-Adiatic international Folklordance Gala begining of Aug.; Hévíz Wine Festival: end of Aug.
Largest settlement on the northern shore of Lake Balaton, aged centre for holiday, foreign tourism, culture, and education. The territory has been inhabited for 7000 years.The most outstanding sight is te Festetics Mansion
u; 1754, Baroque; concerts in the mirror hal and the protected park; Helikon
Mansion Museum; Helikon Library: 80000 volumes, the largest surviving
aristocratic library); 18. c. Baroquebuildings stand in Kastély str. Georgikon
Farm Museum (Bercsényi str. 67; onetime grain store: 1825). Kossuth str.
is the city pedestrian precinct. Doll museum (Bakacs str.; 500 porcelain
dolls in the folk costumets of Hungary), waxworks (ibid.). snail parliament
(ibid); Petho- or Goldmark House (Kossuth str. 20 , 18. c.); birth house
of composer Károly Goldmark; synagogue (19. c)
Balaton Museum (Kossuth u.; Neo-baroque palace : 1928, Györgyi Dénes); Helikon park , inside Helikon memorial; St Nicholas cemetery Festetics György str. ; Festetics mausoleum, Neo-classical , 1924); Júlia Szendrey' birth house (Szendrey settlement, to the south of the cemetery).
Cave (Kisfaludy u. 3; a natural formation unique in Central Europe, 4
km long, protected; boating opportunities); St Borála's statue opposite
the entrance (2000:László Márton); R. C. parish church (Church Hill; 13.-15.
c., Romanesque-Gothic; reconstuction: 1756, Baroque); alongside, garden
of ruins (foundations of roman and Árpád period buildings); Town Museum
(onetime choirmaster's house, 8 Church hill; ethnography, local history
and school history collection); opposite, parsonage (Baroque); in front,
statue of St John of Nepomuk; Tapolca pantheon (by the smaller lake);
opposite, Holy Weeel spring house (Baroque: Inside, Erzsébet Udvardy's
Madonna); bust of Gabriella Baumberg (1966: András Kocsis): Malom-tó:
by the shore, ancient colorful houses and a onetime water mill (18th c.;
now a hotel), next to the walkway, statue of Janos Batsányi (1954, György
Segesdy); permanent exhibitition of sculptor László Márton (Batsányi tér
1.) St Antal Wine Museum (Arany J. str. 1); Holy Trinity column (Fo tér;
1757); Old cemetery (grave of poet Janos Batsányi and his wife Gabriella
village: around a church, in picturesque zigzag streets; around 120 protected
buildings, 18th c.; R. C. church (of 18th c. origin; present form: 1721);
historic little town and place of pilgrimage, rich in monuments. Sümeg
castle, which crowns the castle hill, provides a picturesque sight. A
pleasant footpath leads up to the largest ruined castle in Transdanubia.
(Olsd tower: 13. c., other sections 15. -17. c.; Castle museum); Castle
stables (Vároldal str. 5. ; around 1750, Baroque; the Radetzky hussar
association is now stationed here; exhibitition; Gyözo Somogyi's graphics
on the histories of hussars, horse brasses); Carriage museum (next to
the castle inn; collection of carriages, cannon and sabres). Parrish church
of our Lord's ascension (Bíró M. u. 3.; 1756-1759, Baroque; marvellous
frescoes by F. A. Maulbertsch on the walls and celling); Baroque and electric
town houses (Kossuth str. 18.-19. c.) Kisfaludy Museum (Nr. 3; 18th c.
; the poet was born here); in front sümeg pantheon (memorial plaques to
the famous sons of the town); Baroque country houses (Szent István tér,
Udvarbíró tér); Bishop's place (ibid.; 1745-1753, Baroque; chapel decorated
with stucco); Fransiscan church (ibid.; 1652-1657, early Baroque; Extended:
1724-1733; valuable altars, statues, frescoes; miracle-working shrine
statue of the Virgin Mary; pilgrimage church); alongside, Franciscan monastery
(1652, reconstructed: 1949); town cemetery (here lie the poet Sándor Kisfaludy
and his wife Róza Szegedy)